Jack.JPG

We butchered two of the roosters yesterday.  Before you get too emotional for them, our hens are looking a little bald and a little beat up lately.  Poor Sookie even has a hole in her back the size of a nickel.  So we kept the sweetest one and the other two are freezer birds and stock right now.  I will be canning a ton of chicken stock we are getting off of these guys sometime tonight.  Anyway, so I decided I would try to learn how to do the actual processing.  Usually Hubby brings me the whole bird dressed out and cleaned up and all I have to do is separate cuts of meat and put them in baggies.  I decided it’s time for me to learn the process before that.  If you ever decide to raise your own chickens or ducks for meat, let me offer you a tiny piece of advice for butchery day.  Leave your mouth closed.  What kind of crazy advice is that?  Well, you leave your mouth closed so that when the wind kicks up you don’t end up with feathers in your mouth.  Trust me, you don’t want this to happen to you.

I managed to impress my husband with my willingness to learn this part.  I can’t kill them, I am not even close to being there.  And I don’t know if I ever will.  He and I have talked a lot about this part of homesteading and he is willing to do that part of it.  I would like to be able to help him more, and I am learning new things all the time in order to do that.  If he can get the process started and then hand it off to me, that opens up a whole new range of options for what we can get done.  He worked on his blacksmithing yesterday while I worked on the first rooster.  He was nearby to give me pointers and answer questions, but he also got some of his work done.  The more we can do that, the more successful we will be.

Heck, maybe this week he will show me how to use the chainsaw.

Maybe…

Leave a Reply

