Farm Life

IMG_4844.JPG

I’m having a hard time focusing.  It’s been this way for a couple of weeks now.  The weather isn’t helping; it feels like spring some days and it looks like spring some days.  The peach tree thinks it’s spring.  And the chickens are more actively free ranging, searching out the tender shoots of grass and ripping them from the cold ground.  But then the winter-like days return for a few days.  It’s maddening.  Not that I am quite ready for the return of warm weather; warm weather means that oppressively hot is just around the corner, and I have a feeling this year is going to be a hot one.  We have so many different things going on right now that I could turn in circles all day and not do anything productive.  But that doesn’t mean that I am getting any relaxing done either.

The pig pen needs to go up, the chicken run needs to be finished, the coop cleaned out, 10 gallons of broth need to be canned so we have room in the freezer for meat, the house could use a good scrubbing, the lawn desperately needs attention, the flower beds need tending, I need to write, I need to take a thousand and one pictures and I need to sketch us some designs for the homestead logo.  In addition to work, and the other every day things that need doing.  We aren’t any busier than usual, honestly, I am just having a hard time finding a thing and sticking with it.  And every day that the weather changes, it makes it worse.

Today I spent some time taking pictures with my chickens and my husband while we walked the property and talked about gardening plans.  I am also working on some of the pictures I took today with new editing software I found.  This is my happy place, honestly.  As I ease back into my home and my routine here, talking shop with my hubby and taking pictures of my chickens, I remember why we live here and not in the city.  I have lived in the city.  And for who I was when I was there, it was fine.  But now, the city makes me high strung and antsy.  It makes me cranky and it makes me unfocused.

But this week I’m going to focus on fixing my scattered.  I’m going to hang with my chickens and take way too many pictures.  I’m going to cook with my hubby and find new recipes.  I’m going to learn more about photography and editing.  And I’m going to forget the hustle and bustle of the big city.  Well, at least until I have to go back to work.

 

 

Leave a Reply

