Hashbrown Casserole Potato Cakes

IMG_3931.JPG

I don’t know if you guys have noticed, but man, I have been on a roll lately.  I am a cooking machine!  I have been trying to make sure my husband stays fed because he’s one of those that when he gets busy, he slams a couple cups of coffee, chews up a Tums and calls it dinner.  So when I can I have been making sure he eats.  A few days ago, we made a hashbrown casserole.  It was good and crunchy, looked amazing, but when it came out of the oven, we had done something a little wrong; it was layered instead of all incorporated, more like a lasagna than a casserole.  While the flavor was excellent, the texture wasn’t quite what we wanted, so we put the whole pan in the fridge and forgot about it.  Flash forward to tonight, I’m making my Panko-Parmesan crusted chicken nuggets, some mixed veggies and I spy the casserole still hanging out in the fridge.  My little lightbulb goes on, and I dig it out.  Everything was there, except something to bind it.  I added two eggs fresh from the backyard courtesy of my girls and mashed it all together.  I ended up with an almost batter that had some crunchy bits in it.  So I patted them out into cakes, and put them in a hot skillet.  Brown on both sides and heat through, and you have yourself a Hashbrown Casserole Potato Cake.  Delish!  And they went well with our meal.

I can’t possibly be the first person to think of this, but when they came out so great, I was awfully proud of myself.  I have had a couple of good ideas lately.  Not to toot my own horn, seriously, because when it comes to meal planning I am as predictable as a Lifetime Movie.  Pork chops, potatoes and a green vegetable; chicken, rice and a green vegetable.  You get the idea.  I don’t know if it’s the addition of the Death Wish coffee, or the fact that almost every day for a  week I’ve had an energy drink, which is seriously outside my norm, but I have been sharper and more focused lately.  Who knows.  It doesn’t really matter what has caused the evolution of my cooking, because the end result is that I am expanding my skills and we are both eating well.  Maybe I can keep it up.  But for now, I’ve got to run, while there are still potato cakes left to eat.

Leave a Reply

